What Are Florida Wage and Hour Claims?
Every Florida employer must adhere to state and federal labor laws regarding employee pay and benefits. Such laws include the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the Florida Minimum Wage Act (Section 448.110 of the State Constitution). These laws govern minimum wage rates, overtime pay, employer pay recordkeeping, and even protect minors in the workplace.
Roller Rubinstein helps employees file Florida wage and hour claims when their employer violates state or federal labor laws. If you have been unfairly compensated for your work and time, a wage and hour lawsuit can help you get justice.
- Have you not been compensated for working over 40 hours in a seven-day period?
- Have you been asked to work “off the clock” for extra hours?
- Has your employer offered extra time off in the future to compensate for overtime hours?
- Have you been paid under the minimum wage? (Florida’s untipped minimum wage increases to $12 per hour on September 30, 2023, and has planned $1 increases, reaching $15 by 2026.)
- Does an incorrect employee classification rob you of pay and benefits?
- Are you required to attend meetings or training without pay?
- Has your employer withheld earned pay or vacation time as a form of punishment?
These and many other scenarios are valid offenses against you that violate state and federal labor laws. An experienced Employment Law Attorney in North Miami Beach from Roller Rubinstein can explain these laws and identify other violations against you in a confidential evaluation.